Friday, September 20, 2013

Tanjong Pagar GRC productions

Don’t we love Tanjong Pagar GRC to death for the breed of ministers that it brought to us in its last two decades of uncontested record:

1991: Lim Hng Kiang, who is now our Minister for Trade and Industry

1997: Lim Swee Say, who is still a Minister with no portfolio

2001: Khaw Boon Wan, who is now our Minister for National Development

2006: Lui Tuck Yew, who is now our Minister for Transport

2011: Chan Chun Sing, who is now Minister for Social and Family Development

That total number of ministers who enter our political arena via Tanjong Pagar GRC alone accounts for about a third of our current Cabinet Ministers. Each election sees Tanjong Pagar GRC producing ONE ministerial material candidate who will eventually be promoted to a full minister.